United Clouds of Europe

14.06.2013 , by Helmut Fallmann    

If Europe doesn't want to roll over and concede the business potential of the lucrative future cloud computing market to the US, it's time to act collectively and decisively.

Cloud computing is the name given to the provision of IT resources from virtual server architectures in the internet. In the US cloud computing has long since established itself as an economic driving force. US online giants Amazon, Apple, Facebook and Google have been specifically focusing on the saving of data and software in the cloud for a long time and offering their customers cheap and simple access solutions and IT applications on cloud platforms. With generously dimensioned, countrywide on-demand infrastructure and services the US has once again put itself in pole position for global IT business.

If Europe doesn't want to throw in the towel and concede the whole business potential of a lucrative future market to the US, as in the past with the computer and automobile industry, it's time to act collectively and decisively. Only with an extensive action plan can the "old" continent not only strengthen its global competitiveness on the basis of innovative information technologies but also upgrade its highly developed industries and thereby secure jobs and wealth.

Just a few decades ago Europe's computer industry was bursting with multinational variety. Today virtually nothing is left from the once strong brands of Olivetti or Bull etc. The Americans, in contrast, have taken over the world market with Microsoft, Apple and Hewlett Packard. Europe has only managed establish a powerful alternative to US industry in air and space travel with Airbus Industries and Arianespace through cross-country co-production.

Following the same pattern the US has also perfectly moved itself into pole position in the IT industry currently being revolutionised by cloud services - not only technologically but also through the politically facilitated general conditions.

At the start of the year US President Barack Obama gave the green light for the extension of the "Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act" (FISA) which enables US intelligence services to access all data from non US citizens saved on the large, global databases, without the knowledge or consent of the data owner and without judicial approval.


Establishing a European-wide cloud market

Europe therefore needs a powerful action plan to achieve a fundamental consensus between European cloud companies. The call for "United Clouds of Europe" is closely aligned to the "European Cloud Strategy" as part of the European 2020 initiative "Digital Agenda for Europe". With this strategy the European single market should be revamped into the most competitive ICT market in the world by 2020 on the basis of ultra-quick internet connections..


EU Commission demands "European" thinking

The Vice President of the European Commission Neelie Kroes responsible for this initiative called for "European thinking" in order to fully exploit the multi-billion Euro potential and millions of jobs that cloud computing could bring to Europe. A European approach needs three main steps: Firstly, consistent standards and certificates for the comparison of cloud services by customers. Secondly, secure and fair contracts in which the nature of data usage and the responsibility for data ownership and data saving are clearly defined. And thirdly, the establishing of a European cloud partnership through which the cloud market can be collectively pushed.

European IT companies and the EU Commission must therefore quickly embed a continent-wide action plan into a collective European strategy and to implement this consistently. Because without "United Clouds of Europe" Europe's economic standing will continue to fall behind.

Europe needs certified minimum quality standards for infrastructure, data security and data protection. Furthermore, cloud service users must have assurance that their data in the cloud is saved by European cloud providers in European data centres. Uniform license agreements should achieve additional legal security. The source codes for cloud services should also lie exclusively in Europe.

For European-wide usage, providers should also ensure that their offerings are multilingual and accessible. Moreover, the best possible protection of digital identities, search functions across all "United Cloud Services of Europe" as well as collective standards for support, monitoring of user experiences and reporting on the success of the package of measures need to be included.

But the decisive factor will lie in an unrestricted openness to new technology. Only with the standards-based interoperability of cloud services with single-sign-on and the support of all relevant platforms, mobile end devices and standardised content formats can a large collective market be established for this future technology.


Cloud computing as a chance for Europe's economy

Cloud computing is a chance that our European economy cannot afford to miss in the global fight for market share and the development of innovative technology. Only an ambitious, effective and collective push can lead Europe to success.

Published in "Wirtschaftsblatt" (Austrian financial newspaper) on May 15, 2013

PRISM, United Clouds of Europe

 

 

 

Categories

    Archive

      Authors

United Clouds of Europe

14.06.2013 , by Helmut Fallmann    

Will Europa nicht Amerika kampflos das Wirtschaftspotential des lukrativen Zukunftsmarktes Cloud Computing überlassen, gilt es, jetzt gemeinsam und entschlossen zu handeln.

Cloud Computing nennt man die bedarfsgerechte Bereitstellung von IT-Ressourcen aus virtuellen Serverarchitekturen im Internet. In Amerika hat sich Cloud Computing längst als Wirtschaftsmotor etabliert. Die US-Online-Giganten Amazon, Apple, Facebook und Google setzen schon länger gezielt auf die Speicherung von Daten und Software in der Wolke und bedienen ihre Kunden kostengünstig mit einfachen Zugangslösungen und IT-Anwendungen auf Cloud-Plattformen. Mit großzügig dimensionierter, landesweiter on-Demand Infrastruktur und Services haben sich die USA wieder einmal überlegen in die Pole-Position des globalen IT-Business gebracht.

Wenn Europa nicht wie in der Vergangenheit bei ihrer Computer- oder Autoindustrie Amerika kampflos das gesamte Wirtschaftspotential eines lukrativen Zukunftsmarktes überlassen will, gilt es jetzt gemeinsam und entschlossen zu handeln. Nur mit einem weitreichenden Aktionsplan kann der „alte" Kontinent nicht nur seine globale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf Basis innovativer Informationstechnologien stärken, sondern seine hoch entwickelten Industrien insgesamt aufwerten und damit Arbeitsplätze und Wohlstand sichern.

Europäische IKT-Politik braucht gemeinsames Handeln oder "United Clouds of Europe"

Vor wenigen Jahrzehnten noch präsentierte sich Europas Computerindustrie in multinationaler Vielfalt. Heute ist von diesen einst starken Marken wie Olivetti oder Bull so gut wie nichts übrig geblieben. Die Amerikaner hingegen haben mit Microsoft, Apple oder Hewlett Packard den Weltmarkt überrollt. Nur in der Luft- und Raumfahrt ist es Europa mit grenzüberschreitender Ko-Produktion etwa bei Airbus Industries oder Arianespace gelungen, ein schlagkräftiges Pendant zur amerikanischen Industrie auf die Beine zu stellen.

Ganz nach diesem Muster haben sich die USA auch bei den die IT-Industrie gerade revolutionierenden Cloud-Diensten längst hervorragend in Position gebracht - nicht nur technologisch, sondern auch durch die von der Politik begleitend gestalteten Rahmenbedingungen.

So hat erst zu Jahresbeginn Präsident Barack Obama grünes Licht zur Verlängerung des „Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act" (FISA) gegeben, der es US-Geheimdiensten gestattet, alle Daten von Nicht-US-Bürgern, die auf den großen, globalen Datenbanken gespeichert sind, ohne Wissen der Dateninhaber und ohne richterliche Genehmigung abzufragen.

Etablierung eines gesamteuropäischen Cloud-Marktes

Europa braucht daher einen schlagkräftigen Aktionsplan, mit dem ein Grundkonsens zwischen europäischen Cloud-Unternehmen erzielt wird. Die Forderung nach „United Clouds of Europe" steht übrigens in engem Einklang mit der „Europäischen Cloud Strategie" im Rahmen der europäischen 2020 Initiative „Digital Agenda for Europe". Mit dieser Strategie soll der europäische Binnenmarkt unter anderem auf Basis ultraschneller Internetverbindungen bis zum Jahr 2020 zum wettbewerbsfähigsten IKT-Markt der Welt umgestaltet werden.

EU-Kommission fordert „europäisches" Denken

Die dafür verantwortliche Vizepräsidentin der Europäischen Kommission Neelie Kroes appellierte daher folgerichtig an „ein europäisches Denken", um das hunderte Milliarden Euro schwere Potenzial von Cloud-Computing und Millionen neuer Jobs in Europa in vollem Umfang zu nutzen. In einem europäischen Ansatz braucht es drei wesentliche Schritte: Erstens einheitliche Standards und Zertifikate zur Vergleichbarkeit von Cloud Services durch die Kunden. Zweitens sichere und faire Verträge, mit denen die Art der Datennutzung und die Verantwortlichkeit für Datenbesitz und Datenspeicherung geregelt werden. Und drittens die Etablierung einer europäischen Cloud-Partnerschaft, durch die der Cloud-Markt gemeinsam gepusht werden kann.

Die europäischen IT-Unternehmen und die EU-Kommission müssen daher rasch einen kontinentweiten Aktionsplan in eine gemeinsame europäische Strategie einbetten und konsequent umsetzen. Denn ohne „United Clouds of Europe" wird der Wirtschaftsstandort Europa noch weiter ins Hintertreffen geraten.

Mindeststandards und Rechtssicherheit

Europa braucht zertifizierte Mindestqualitätsstandards bei Infrastruktur, bei Datensicherheit und beim Datenschutz. Die Nutzer von Cloud-Diensten müssen ferner Gewissheit darüber haben, dass ihre Daten bei europäischen Cloud-Anbietern in europäischen Rechenzentren gehalten werden. Einheitliche Nutzungsverträge sollen zusätzliche Rechtssicherheit schaffen. Auch die Source Codes für die Cloud-Dienste sollen vollständig in Europa liegen.

Schutz digitaler Identitäten und durchgehende Funktionalitäten

Für eine europaweite Nutzung haben die Anbieter ihre Angebote auch vielsprachig und barrierefrei auszurichten. Weiters werden der bestmögliche Schutz digitaler Identitäten, Suchfunktionen über alle „United Cloud Services of Europe" hinweg sowie gemeinsame Standards für Support, das Monitoring von Nutzer-Erfahrungen und das Reporting den Erfolg des Maßnahmenpaketes mitbestimmen.

Technologieoffenheit und Interoperabilität

Der alles entscheidende Faktor wird aber in einer Technologieoffenheit ohne Ausgrenzung liegen. Nur mit auf Standards basierender Interoperabilität von Cloud-Services mit Single-Sign-On, der Unterstützung aller relevanten Plattformen sowie mobiler Endgeräte und mit der Verwendung genormter Content-Formate wird sich ein großer gemeinsamer Markt für diese Zukunftstechnologie etablieren lassen.

Cloud-Computing als Chance für Europas

Wirtschaft Cloud-Computing ist eine Chance, die unsere europäische Wirtschaft im globalen Wettstreit um Marktanteile und die Entwicklung innovativer Technologien nicht versäumen darf. Nur ein ambitionierter, effektiver und gesamteuropäischer Vorstoß kann hier zum Erfolg führen.

PRISM, United Clouds of Europe

 

 

 

Kategorien

    Archiv

      Autoren